

Arizona Barbering & Cosmetology Board 1740 W Adams St • #4400 • Phoenix, AZ 85007

https://bcb.az.gov/ • 480-784-4539

Katie Hobbs Governor Frank L. Migali Executive Director

Legislative Sub-Committee Meeting Minutes

Arizona Barbering & Cosmetology Board Meeting October 6, 2023, | 9:00 a.m. Virtual Meeting

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Executive Director Frank Migali at 9:05AM.

II. Roll Call

Sub-Committee Members:

Brandon McFadden, Barber Trista Guzman-Glover, Public Member Cathy Koluch, The Studio Academy of Beauty Aimee Blackman, Gateway Community College

Absent:

Marshall A. Knox, Barber School Owner (joined the meeting at 9:30AM)

Board Staff Members:

Frank L. Migali, MBA, Executive Director Kelli Shepard, Deputy Director Heather Sanabria, Executive Staff Assistant

III. Selection of Sub Committee Chairperson

Cathy Koluch volunteers to be Chairperson. The Sub-Committee members are in agreement to have Cathy Koluch chair the meetings.

IV. Review and Discussion of Desired Legislative Updates

Deputy Director, Kelli Shepard reviews Proposed Statutes for the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board with the Legislative Sub-Committee.

Licensing

1. Individual Licenses

Board Recommendation: 32-X11



It is recommended that the age and minimum education requirements match between the barber and cosmetology statutes and all individual licenses require the person to be at least 16 with at least two years of completion of high school or 18 years of age.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding individual licenses. **Motion passed unanimously.**

2. Reexaminations

Board Recommendation: 32-X18

Apply reexamination processes to all licensee types.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding reexaminations.

Motion passed unanimously.

3. Reciprocity Licenses

Board Recommendation: 32-X16

Allow cosmetologists, nail technicians, hairstylists, and aestheticians to provide proof of their competency and experience as a substitute for proving their education.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to amend the board staff recommendation to include that a practical examination must be passed for the appropriate license type and the appropriate infection prevention training.

Motion passed unanimously.

4. Instructor Licenses

(A) Barber Instructor Age

Board Recommendation: 32-X31

Equalize the requirements to become an instructor and change to "Holds a diploma from a high school or its equivalent as prescribed by the board in its rules and submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least nineteen years of age."

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding barber instructor age. **Motion passed unanimously.**

Marshall Knox has joined the meeting at 9:30AM.

(B) Barber Instructor Exam Requirement

Board Recommendation: 32-X31

Require both written and practical examinations for all instructor license applicants.

This item will be tabled until the next meeting.



(C) Barber Instructor Experience Board Recommendation: 32-X31

Lower the barber instructor requirement to one year of experience.

This item will be tabled until the next meeting.

(D) Barber Instructor Training Hour Requirement Board Recommendation: 32-X31

Require all Instructor applicants to have completed 350 hours of instructor Training.

This item will be tabled until the next meeting.

5. Instructor Reciprocity

Board Recommendation: 32-X32

State that Arizona accepts instructor licenses from other states just as it does with cosmetology instructor licenses.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding instructor reciprocity. **Motion passed unanimously.**

6. License Expiration/Suspension Board Recommendation: 32-X21

Automatically suspend barber and cosmetology licenses after 5 years of inactivity.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding license expiration/suspension.

Motion passed unanimously.

Establishments

1. Inspection Sheets

Board Recommendation: 32-X43

All Establishments are required to display the latest inspection sheet in a conspicuous location.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding inspection sheets. **Motion passed unanimously.**

2. License Expiration

Board Recommendation: 32-X44

All establishment licenses will expire on the anniversary date that it was first licensed.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation



regarding license expiration.

Motion passed unanimously.

Schools

1. School Inspections

Board Recommendation: 32-X62

All schools will be inspected on a regular basis as determined by the Board.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation

regarding school inspections.

Motion passed unanimously.

2. School Equipment

Board Recommendation: 32-X55

Require all schools to contain sufficient equipment as prescribed by the board in its rules and leave the details of equipment to be specified in Rules

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation regarding school equipment.

Motion passed unanimously.

3. Separation of Schools from Other Businesses

Board Recommendation: 32-X56

Statute to read: A school of any type may include programs related to a subject that the board licenses but may not include an establishment. A school may offer sell related products and articles.

This item will be tabled until the next meeting.

Regulations

1. Confidentiality

Board recommendation: 32-X76Apply confidentiality to all license types.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation

regarding confidentiality.

Motion passed unanimously.

2. Civil Penalties

Board Recommendation: 32-X71

Make the two congruent and allow the board to impose a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed two thousand dollars.

Motion: Cathy Koluch makes a motion to accept the board staff recommendation



regarding civil penalties. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Refusal to Issue License & Disciplinary Action Board Recommendation: 32-X72

The statutes should be equal and include lines 6 and 7 for all licensees.

** A conviction of a crime or act shall not be a cause of refusal to issue or renew a license or registration unless the crime or act is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of the license or registration for which the application is made.

This item will be tabled until the next meeting.

4. Unlawful Acts

Board Recommendation: 32-X74

Ensure all requirements apply to all licensees and all establishment types. Change language in row 3 to say "Each establishment shall have an individual designated as the manager of the establishment."

This item will be continued at the next meeting due to time constraints.

Executive Director Frank Migali states that the next meeting will resume with the last agenda item under section IV-Regulations-(4) Unlawful Acts and the list of tabled sections.

Items tabled to next meeting:

Licensing- Instructor License 4(B) Barber Instructor Exam Requirement

Licensing- Instructor License 4(C) Barber Instructor Experience

Licensing-Instructor License 4(D) Barber Instructor Training Hour Requirement

Schools- Separation of Schools from Other Businesses

Confidentiality- Refusal to Issue License & Disciplinary Action

Confidentiality- Unlawful Acts

Deputy Director Kelli Shepard will send out and updated document to the committee.

V. Adjournment

Trista Guzman Glover moved to adjourn the meeting. Brandon McFadden seconds the motion. The meeting adjourns at 10:32AM.