Persons who wish to be licensed as a barber in the State of Arizona or open a barber shop need to apply online by going to elicense.az.gov
The Board grants licenses for barbering either by examination or reciprocity. Please apply online at elicense.az.gov
Examination Requirements and Dates
For detailed information on examination requirements and dates view the exam schedule.
Reciprocity Requirements: All these must be entered with your application by going to: elicense.az.gov
- Applicant shall be at least 16 years of age.
- Furnish one professionally posed picture, passport size. Polaroid pictures and snap shots are not acceptable. The picture must be of the applicant only.
- Furnish proof of a tenth grade education. (copy of high school diploma; transcript or letter from high school showing completion of tenth grade; military discharge paper showing completion of 10th grade; or g.e.d. grades showing not less than a passing grade over-all or 39 with no individual grade lower than 31.)
- Copy of a current barber license in a state with which Arizona has a reciprocity agreement.
- Notarized proof of at least 1 year's work experience as a barber. If you were self-employed, please fill out the "proof of work" form for yourself and include proof that you were self-employed (copy of barber shop license or tax records).
- Submit completed, notarized application and $175.00 fee per A.R.S. § 32-328 (money order or certified check only).
|As of AUGUST 27th 2019, Arizona has reciprocity with the entire United States OF AMERICA
Senate Bill 1328 that the Governor has signed 90 days ago has become officially active as of August 27th 2019.
1. This means...... that for any Cosmetologist that has proof of an active license can apply for a barber exam by first taking 350 hours at a barber school; finish these required hours and then will be qualified to take the full state exam.
2. This also means...... that anyone from another country that has proper citizenship documentation AND documented proof of completing a course in barbering can first, be assessed at a barber school and if the school feels the individual is proficient in barbering, that individual will only be required to complete 350 hours in preparation for the State exam.
Barber Shop Inspections .. PLEASE READ!!
Barber Shop inspections are not announced and can occur at any time the shop is open for business. Inspection results are maintained in the office of the Board of Barbers and range from satisfactory to unsatisfactory results.
Shops are inspected for compliance with state rules and laws which include:
- Valid shop and personal licenses
- The proper disinfection of electrical and non-electrical instruments and equipment.
- Other sanitation, health and safety standards.
View and print details of what inspectors review on this PDF Self Inspection Sheet. This document in in Adobe Acrobat format. You will need Acrobat to view and print this document. Don't have it? You can download it for free.
Please open and read below
Agency Small Business Bill of Rights.pdf
The law requires that all persons applying for a license or license renewal must demonstrate U.S. citizenship or lawful presence in the U.S. A US Citizenship Statement form with the documents identified in the Evidence of Citizenship attachment must now accompany all license applications and renewals online at elicense.az.gov
Arizona State Board of Barbers
The Arizona State Board of Barbers conducts its inspections/investigations under the authority of Arizona Revised Statutes §32-304(B)(2), §32-351, §32-352, §32-353, §32-354, §32-355 and §32-356. A small business owner is given a complete copy of the statutes and rules which govern the barbering industry in Arizona upon completion of their initial application for a business license. The Small Business Bill of Rights is enumerated below:
Small Business Bill of Rights
You, as the small business owner, are entitled to all of the rights established in A.R.S. §41-1001.01 and A.R.S. §41-1009 (A)(1)-(7), as well as A.R.S. §32-304(B)(2), §32-351, §32-352, §32-353, §32-354, §32-355 and §32-356.. Copies of these statutes and rules are linked above.
41-1001.01 Regulatory Bill of Rights
A. To ensure fair and open regulation by state agencies, a person:
1. Is eligible for reimbursement of fees and other expenses if the person prevails by adjudication on the merits against an agency in a court proceeding regarding an agency decision as provided in section 12-348.
2. Is eligible for reimbursement of the person's costs and fees if the person prevails against any agency in an administrative hearing as provided in section 41-1007.
3. Is entitled to have an agency not charge the person a fee unless the fee for the specific activity is expressly authorized as provided in section 41-1008.
4. Is entitled to receive the information and notice regarding inspections and audits prescribed in section 41-1009.
5. May review the full text or summary of all rulemaking activity, the summary of substantive policy statements and the full text of executive orders in the register as provided in article 2 of this chapter.
6. May participate in the rulemaking process as provided in articles 3, 4, 4.1 and 5 of this chapter, including:
(a) Providing written comments or testimony on proposed rules to an agency as provided in section 41-1023 and having the agency adequately address those comments as provided in section 41-1052, subsection D, including comments or testimony concerning the information contained in the economic, small business and consumer impact statement.
(b) Filing an early review petition with the governor's regulatory review council as provided in article 5 of this chapter.
(c) Providing written comments or testimony on rules to the governor's regulatory review council during the mandatory sixty-day comment period as provided in article 5 of this chapter.
7. Is entitled to have an agency not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on licensing conditions or requirements that are not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact as provided in section 41-1030, subsection B.
8. Is entitled to have an agency not make a rule under a specific grant of rulemaking authority that exceeds the subject matter areas listed in the specific statute or not make a rule under a general grant of rulemaking authority to supplement a more specific grant of rulemaking authority as provided in section 41-1030, subsection C.
9. May allege that an existing agency practice or substantive policy statement constitutes a rule and have that agency practice or substantive policy statement declared void because the practice or substantive policy statement constitutes a rule as provided in section 41-1033.
10. May file a complaint with the administrative rules oversight committee concerning:
(a) A rule's, practice's or substantive policy statement's lack of conformity with statute or legislative intent as provided in section 41-1047.
(b) An existing statute, rule, practice alleged to constitute a rule or substantive policy statement that is alleged to be duplicative or onerous as provided in section 41-1048.
11. May have the person's administrative hearing on contested cases and appealable agency actions heard by an independent administrative law judge as provided in articles 6 and 10 of this chapter.
12. May have administrative hearings governed by uniform administrative appeal procedures as provided in articles 6 and 10 of this chapter and may appeal a final administrative decision by filing a notice of appeal pursuant to title 12, chapter 7, article 6.
13. May have an agency approve or deny the person's license application within a predetermined period of time as provided in article 7.1 of this chapter.
14. Is entitled to receive written notice from an agency on denial of a license application:
(a) That justifies the denial with references to the statutes or rules on which the denial is based as provided in section 41-1076.
(b) That explains the applicant's right to appeal the denial as provided in section 41-1076.
15. Is entitled to receive information regarding the license application process before or at the time the person obtains an application for a license as provided in sections 41-1001.02 and 41-1079.
16. May receive public notice and participate in the adoption or amendment of agreements to delegate agency functions, powers or duties to political subdivisions as provided in section 41-1026.01 and article 8 of this chapter.
17. May inspect all rules and substantive policy statements of an agency, including a directory of documents, in the office of the agency director as provided in section 41-1091.
18. May file a complaint with the office of the ombudsman-citizens aide to investigate administrative acts of agencies as provided in chapter 8, article 5 of this title.
19. Unless specifically authorized by statute, may expect state agencies to avoid duplication of other laws that do not enhance regulatory clarity and to avoid dual permitting to the extent practicable as prescribed in section 41-1002.
20. May have the person's administrative hearing on contested cases pursuant to title 23 chapter 2 or 4 heard by an independent administrative law judge as prescribed by title 23, chapter 2 or 4.
21. Pursuant to section 41-1009, subsection E, may correct deficiencies identified during an inspection unless otherwise provided by law.
B. The enumeration of the rights listed in subsection A of this section does not grant any additional rights that are not prescribed in the sections referenced in subsection A of this section.
C. Each state agency that conducts audits, inspections or other regulatory enforcement actions pursuant to section 41-1009 shall create and clearly post on the agency's website a small business bill of rights. The agency shall create the small business bill of rights by selecting the applicable rights prescribed in this section and section 41-1009 and any other agency-specific statutes and rules. The agency shall provide a written document of the small business bill of rights to the authorized on-site representative of the regulated small business. In addition to the rights listed in this section and section 41-1009, the agency notice of the small business bill or rights shall include the process by which a small business may file a complaint with the agency employees who are designated to assist members of the public or regulated community pursuant to section 41-1006. The notice must provide the contact information of the agency's designated employees. The agency notice must also state that if the regulated person has already made a reasonable effort with the agency to resolve the problem and still has not been successful, the regulated person may contact the office of the ombudsman-citizens aide.
41-1009. Inspections; Applicability
A. An agency inspector, auditor or regulator who enters any premises of a regulated person for the purpose of conducting an inspection or audit shall, unless otherwise provided in law:
1. Present photo identification on entry of the premises.
2. On initiation of the inspection or audit, state the purpose of the inspection or audit and the legal authority for conducting the inspection or audit.
3 Disclose any applicable inspection or audit fees.
4. Afford an opportunity to have an authorized on-site representative of the regulated person accompany the agency inspector, auditor or regulator on the premises, except during confidential interviews.
5. Provide notice of the right to have on request:
(a) Copies of any original documents taken by the agency during the inspection or audit if the agency is permitted by law to take original documents.
(b) A split of any samples taken during the inspection if the split of any samples would not prohibit an analysis from being conducted or render an analysis inconclusive.
(c) Copies of any analysis performed on samples taken during the inspection.
(d) Copies of any documents to be relied on to determine compliance with licensure or regulatory requirements if the agency is otherwise permitted by law to do so.
6. Inform each person whose conversation with the agency inspector, auditor or regulator during the inspection or audit is tape recorded that the conversation is being tape recorded.
7. Inform each person who is interviewed during the inspection or audit that:
(a) Statements made by the person may be included in the inspection or audit report.
(b) Participation in an interview is voluntary, unless the person is legally compelled to participate in the interview.
(c) The person is allowed at least twenty-four hours to review and revise any written witness statement that is drafted by the agency inspector, auditor or regulator and on which the agency inspector, auditor or regulator requests the person's signature.
(d) The inspector, auditor or regulator may not prohibit the regulated person from having an attorney or any other experts in their field present during the interview to represent or advise the regulated person.
If you have any questions or concerns regarding this inspection/audit, please contact the Arizona State Board of Barbers.
In the event that you have made a reasonable effort to resolve any problems with the agency and have not been successful, you may contact the Office of Ombudsman-Citizens Aide:
Arizona Ombudsman-Citizens' Aide
3737 N. 7th Street, Suite 209
Phoenix AZ 85014
1-800-872-2879 (Arizona outside Phoenix metro area)
Fax: (602) 277-7312
e-mail: [email protected]
You are entitled to all of the rights established in A.R.S. §41-1001.01 and A.R.S. §41-1009 (A)(1)-(7), as well as A.R.S. §32-32-304(B)(2) and §32-351 to §32-355. Copies of these statutes and rules are attached hereto.
32-304. Powers and duties
B. The board may:
2. Inspect the premises of any school, shop or salon during business hours.
32-351. Display of license
A. Barbers and holders of shop licenses shall display their licenses in a conspicuous place within the shop.
B. Instructors and holders of school licenses shall display their licenses in a conspicuous place within the school.
32-352. Disciplinary action
The board may take any one or a combination of the following disciplinary actions:
- Revoke a license.
- Suspend a license.
- Impose a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars.
- Impose probation requirements best adapted to protect the public safety, health and welfare including requirements for restitution payments to patrons.
- Publicly reprove a licensee.
- Issue a letter of concern.
32-353. Grounds for refusal to issue or renew a license or disciplinary action
The board may take disciplinary action or refuse to issue or renew a license for any of the following causes:
- Continued performance of barbering by a person knowingly having an infectious or communicable disease.
- Malpractice or incompetency.
- Advertising by means of known false or deceptive statements.
- Advertising, practicing or attempting to practice under a trade name other than the one in which the license is issued.
- Violating any provision of this chapter or any rule adopted pursuant to this chapter.
- Making false statements to the board.
32-354. Procedure for disciplinary action; appeal
A. The board on its own motion may investigate any information which appears to show the existence of any of the causes set forth in section 32-353. The board shall investigate the report of any person which appears to show the existence of any of the causes set forth in section 32-353. A person reporting pursuant to this section who provides the information in good faith is not subject to liability for civil damages as a result.
B. If, after completing its investigation, the board finds that the evidence is not of sufficient seriousness to merit direct action against a license, it may take either of the following actions:
1. Dismiss if, in the opinion of the board, the evidence is without merit.
2. File a letter of concern if, in the opinion of the board, while there is insufficient evidence to support direct action against the license there is sufficient evidence for the board to notify the licensee that continuation of the activities which led to the information or report being made to the board may result in action against his license.
C. If, in the opinion of the board, it appears the information or report is or may be true, the board shall request an informal interview with the licensee concerned. The interview shall be requested by the board in writing, stating the reasons for the interview and setting a date not less than ten days from the date of the notice for conducting the interview.
D. If, after an informal interview, the board finds that the evidence warrants suspension or revocation of a license issued pursuant to this chapter, imposition of a civil penalty or public reproof or if the licensee under investigation refuses to attend the informal interview, a complaint shall be issued and formal proceedings shall be initiated. All proceedings pursuant to this subsection shall be conducted in accordance with title 41, chapter 6, article 10.
E. If, after an informal interview, the board finds that the evidence is not of sufficient seriousness to merit suspension or revocation of a license issued pursuant to this chapter, imposition of a civil penalty or public reproof it may take the following actions:
- Dismiss if, in the opinion of the board, the evidence is without merit.
- File a letter of concern if, in the opinion of the board, while there is insufficient evidence to support direct action against the license there is sufficient evidence for the board to notify the licensee that continuation of the activities which led to the information or report being made to the board may result in action against the licensee's license.
- Impose probation requirements.
F. Except as provided in section 41-1092.08, subsection H, final decisions of the board are subject to judicial review pursuant to title 12, chapter 7, article 6.
32-355. Unlawful acts; violation; classification
A. A person shall not:
- Practice or attempt to practice barbering without a current barber license issued pursuant to this chapter.
- Practice or teach in or operate a school or operate a shop or salon which does not have a current license issued pursuant to this chapter.
- Operate a shop or salon unless it is under the direct supervision of a barber.
- Display a sign or in any way advertise or hold oneself out as a barber or as being engaged in the practice or business of barbering without being licensed pursuant to this chapter.
- Knowingly make a false statement on an application for a license pursuant to this chapter.
- Permit an employee or another person under his supervision or control to practice barbering without a license issued pursuant to this chapter.
- Practice barbering in any place other than in a shop or salon licensed pursuant to this chapter unless he is requested by a customer to go to a place other than a shop or salon licensed pursuant to this chapter and is sent to the customer from the shop or salon.
- Obtain or attempt to obtain a license by the use of money other than the prescribed fees or any other thing of value or by fraudulent misrepresentation.
- Violate any provision of this chapter or any rule adopted pursuant to this chapter.
B. An instructor shall not render barbering services in a school unless the services are directly incidental to the instruction of students.
C. A school shall clearly indicate to the public that all services are performed by students under the direct supervision of an instructor.
D. A person who violates this section is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.
The board, the attorney general, a county attorney or any other person may apply to the superior court in the county in which acts or practices of any person which constitute a violation of this chapter or the rules adopted pursuant to this chapter are alleged to have occurred for an order enjoining those acts or practices.
2020 Exam Schedule
INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED!
Arizona does not grant permits or temporary licenses pending the examination. Each applicant must take a written and practical exam and the passing grade for each is 75%. Applicants will retake only the portion of the exam failed.
BARBER EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS
- Furnish proof of a tenth grade education or higher. Supply one of the following: high school diploma, military discharge paper showing completion of 10th grade, transcript of grades showing a passing grade through the 10th grade, G.E.D., Associate Arts diploma from a community college, or university diploma. If this proof is not in English, the document must be translated and notarized. We want a copy of the original and the translation.
- Furnish proof of graduation from a barber school by supplying one of the following: copy of barber license, certification from the state board in the state you hold a current license, barber school diploma or certification of hours from the barber school. New York licenses must be accompanied by a certification issued by that state
- Furnish a notarized proof of work experience if you have worked as a barber for one year or more.
- Furnish one professionally posed picture, passport size. For identification purposes sign the picture on the front but not across applicant's face. Snap shots are not acceptable. The picture must be of applicant only.
- A valid social security number is mandatory.
- Please complete the “Statement Of Citizenship And Alien Status For State Public Benefits” and submit a copy of the document you are using as proof. The most common proofs are a copy of a birth certificate, U.S. passport, certificate of naturalization or a permanent resident card (green card).
- One hundred forty dollars ($140.00) as per A.R.S. § 32-328 in cash, money order or certified check must accompany the completed, signed and notarized application. This fee will cover the required examination and the first license. No money will be refunded.
- The written examination consists of questions on subjects covered in general textbooks on barbering and State laws.
- The practical examination consists of haircutting, shampooing, scalp manipulation, shaving and the scientific rest facial. Everyone will do a taper haircut, shampoo, shave and facial. All applicants are required to furnish their own models, tools, towels, shampoo, hair tonic, after-shave lotion and chair cloth. Models cannot be or have been in the barbering profession. The board will furnish lather and massage creams. Applicants must have five combs, two brushes and a can of spray disinfectant at the examination and while working.
BARBER EXAMINATION DATES AND LOCATIONS
Examinations will be given in Phoenix. One week after filing deadline, emails to all schools will be sent out with schedule times. Students should check with their schools or schools should have information for former students available. Report 30 minutes before scheduled exam time. A barber student card or picture ID must be presented at the door to take exams.
EXAM TIMES, DATES AND LOCATIONS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE PENDING AVAILABILITY
|January 15, 2020
||Written Exam: January 30th, 2020 Practical: February 3rd, 2020
|March 18th, 2020
||Written Exam: April 2nd, 2020 Practical: April 6th, 2020
|May 6th, 2020
||Written Exam: May 21st, 2020 Practical: June 1st, 2020
|July 15th, 2020
||Written Exam: July 30th, 2020 Practical: August 3rd, 2020
|September 16th, 2020
||Written Exam: October 1st, 2020 Practical: October 5th, 2020
|November 18th, 2020
||Written Exam: December 2nd, 2020 Practical: December 7th, 2020
Please note that the “filing date” is printed first and then the “exam date”
Models must be male and have sufficient hair on the top of their head and sides for a taper haircut; taper up the neck with clippers; no line or square back; shave around the ears; no precuts allowed. A student’s model must have their mustache shaved off during the examination. If you have questions about your proposed model, please call the office.
Practice good sanitation during the examination !!!
If you miss the examination, please contact this office for rescheduling. Fee will be forfeited after six months.
If you need to retake a portion of the examination, it is your responsibility to contact the office to make arrangements for the retake.
YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO WORK AS A BARBER UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR LICENSE.
SPECIAL NOTICE: TENTITIVE INSTRUCTOR EXAM SCHEDULE WILL ALWAYS BE ON MONDAYS at 10:00am
NEXT EXAM DATES ( Dates and time may change) : March 9th 2020... May 11th 2020... July 20th 2019(Canceled)...September 21st 2020...December 14th 2020